Tags

, ,

I have been trying to make a perfect or even good pie crust for such a long time. I finally figured it out. 🙂 The key for me is using a pastry cutter and putting the bowl in the freezer for a good amount of time before starting.

The recipe is

1 1/4c. flour
1/8 tsp. salt
1 1/2 tbl. sugar
1/8 cup shortening
6 tbl. butter (cold and cubed)
1/8 to 1/4 c ice water

Mix flour, salt, sugar in bowl. Cut in COLD shortening and butter and when ready add ice water, tbl at a time. I then bag it and freeze for 30 min before rolling out.

This video helped me learn 🙂

Source: allrecipes.com via Deanna on Pinterest

So now that I have the perfect crust I made a coconut cream pie. It turned out nothing short of amazing. Quite possibly the best pie I have ever had. My husband and son agreed!

A few things I changed in this recipe were I added 1 tsp. of Watkin’s coconut extract. Instead of using 3 cups of half and half I used one can of coconut cream and then used half and half to equal 3 cups total. I did use cool whip for the top but next time think I am going to do homemade whipped topping.

Source: allrecipes.com via Deanna on Pinterest

I also made a lemon meringue pie. It was also amazing!

Here is the link to that recipe. This one I made as is. Perfection!

